FIND
School for Spiritual Direction and Formation


217 W. 26th Street
Bryan, TX 77803
ph: 979-324-4302

 

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Listening ear offered by spiritual directors during Coronavirus pandemic

   

     More than 30 spiritual directors have volunteered to offer their ministry via phone or other electronic communications methods to individuals who may be experiencing stress due to issues pertaining to the Coronavirus pandemic.

     Experts have noted that as people are increasingly separated from their normal routine and with constant changes in daily activities, some may find it helpful to talk to a good listener. Experts also have noted connections between a person’s physical and spiritual health.

     Spiritual direction is an ancient practice in which an individual can talk confidentially about their relationship with God to a person trained to listen deeply without judgment and without trying to solve problems. Often being able to talk about the issues they are facing yields a way forward for the individual.

     While the ministry is often done in person, it also has been successful via phone or online methods for those in places where people are geographically distanced from a trained spiritual director. Hence, a network of spiritual directors based in Texas - but also in other locations - agreed to offer their ministry to anyone from any area during the Coronavirus crisis.

     Individuals may include those who are self-isolating at home, those who have lost their jobs or had their hours decreased, caregivers, health care professionals, journalists, law enforcement officers, and government decision makers, for example.

     The volunteer spiritual directors represent many of those same occupations, in fact, as well as some clergy.

     To contact a volunteer, email the person to request a mutually agreeable time and method for contact such as phone, zoom, FaceTime or Skype. All conversations are confidential and under the ethics guidelines of Spiritual Directors International.

     The effort was organized by FIND – School for Spiritual Direction and Formation, based in Bryan, Texas. It is an ecumenical school established by the Episcopal Diocese of Texas in 1997.

     Contact Kathleen Phillips, 979-324-4302.

Volunteer Spiritual Directors

Jane Almquist, deaconessjane@gmail.com

Scott Beachy, scottbeachy@att.net

Sue Beall, prsue1938@gmail.com

Heidi Campbell, hcampbe1@yahoo.co.uk

Clint Capers, clint.capers@yahoo.com

Karen Courville, kcourville@servicesteel.org

Kelli Davis, kellidavis5@hotmail.com

Vivian Dawkins, vpdawkins@hotmail.com

Sheila Gerth, sagrammy@sbcglobal.net

Leslie Hay, lhay3@sbcglobal.net

Beth Hebert, bhebert3563@gmail.com

Thom Holt, hhoolltt@verizon.net

Dave Kerkes, djkerkes@gmail.com

Jeanne Knapp, jmknapp1111@gmail.com

Gail McCandless, gailmc@gmail.com

Connie Merhley, csmerhley@gmail.com

Jean Moore, jeanm214@gmail.com

Phil Niemeyer, phil@philniemeyer.com

Bruce Norton, bnorton@nortonassociates.com

Kathleen Phillips, finddirectr@yahoo.com

John Price, johnwprice38@gmail.com

Anne Province, anneprovince@gmail.com

Kathy Reiter, Kathy.reiter@live.com

Kipp Richter, namagee@gmail.com

Gloria Rose, grose10496@aol.com

Linda Schmieg, lschmieg@me.com

Martha Schreffler, schref@swbell.net

Betsy Sentigar, bsentigar@gmail.com

Roger Sessions, roger.sessions@gmail.com

Jill Stavenhager, j-stavenhagen@tamu.edu

Lonny Tanel, lonnytanel@msn.com

Iris Villareal, irisvillareal@gmail.com

Betty Waddell, blwmamadog@gmail.com

George Warriner, georgewarriner49@gmail.com

Janice Watkins, janiwat@mac.com

Judy Webster, judy1.webster@gmail.com